Pursuit and The Words of Our Heart

MEDITATION SCRIPTURE | WHAT IT SAYS

1 Only fools say in their hearts,
“There is no God.”
They are corrupt, and their actions are evil;
not one of them does good!

2 The Lord looks down from heaven
on the entire human race;
he looks to see if anyone is truly wise,
if anyone seeks God.
3 But no, all have turned away;
all have become corrupt.[a]
No one does good,
not a single one!

  • Psalm 14:1-3 NLT

MEDITATION ON WHAT IT MEANS

77% of Americans “say” that they are Christians, and yet it’s not reflected in the news and in our culture. Many self-professing “believers” view self-professing Atheists as foolish and often times use this scripture in leveling their assessment. If we look more closely at this Psalm, however, it’s not what we say with our mouth, but what we say in our heart that determines whether we’re wise or foolish.

How do you know what someone’s saying in their heart if the words of their heart can’t be heard audibly?

How we live our life, our actions in those unseen, unexpected and unfair places, are usually an accurate reflection of what we’re saying in our hearts. The words of our hearts are communicated in the lifestyle that we live. What is the lifestyle, according to this passage, that reflects what we believe about God’s existence? Pursuit. We won’t seek after someone or something that we don’t believe in.

Before we look down on Atheists as “foolish” and ourselves as “wise” we should consider the Psalmists sobering assessment. The corrupt are the foolish who say in their HEARTS their is no God. How many are corrupt? ALL. There is NO ONE who seeks God. ALL say in their HEARTS and reflect in their LACK OF PURSUIT that there is no God.

If it were not for His pursuit of me, through Jesus Christ, I would have remained in this condition. I love because He first loved me. I am now seeking after the one who first sought me.

MEDITATION ON WHAT IT MEANS FOR ME

Who or what have I been pursuing?

What do my pursuit(s) reflect about what my heart is saying regarding God’s existence?

How can I pursue being WITH Him?

How can I pursue being LIKE Him?

Leave a comment